Robot Zot: What’s he got? Scieszka & Shannon!

August 31, 2010 at 12:57 pm Leave a comment

Robot Zot by Jon Scieszka; illustrated by David Shannon; published by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers, New York; 2009.

Jon Scieszka, champion of reluctant readers and king of kid comedy, has written the perfect read-aloud book for boys and girls alike.  Imagine reading Zot’s parts in Robot Voice and then shifting into TV commercial announcer voice and then into the voice of the narrator.  And there are refrains for the children to repeat in their best robot voices.  But wait!  There’s more!  Fans of David Shannon will recognize the over-the-top, larger-than-life illustrations.  His close-ups (like Robot Zot’s crazed face when faced with the terrible General), ground shots and overhead views creates an almost cinematic feel for the adventure story.  Big kids will find a hidden, sub-story in the illustrations (look for the befuddled pet owner throughout the story).  His acrylics-on-illustration-board images have been meticulously reproduced, including details like brush strokes.

Of course I recommend that this book be included on lists for reluctant readers.  Anyone planning story times must use this book; it’s a natural read-aloud.  Also, it’s a must-read for fans of Scieszka and Shannon alike.


Advertisements

Entry filed under: for reluctant readers, Picture Book, Starred Review Book (Horn Book, Booklist. School Library Journal, Kirkus or PW). Tags: , , , , .

Who can tell a story? The Candymakers can! Show Way is family, American history

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


a librarian's library of plans & resources for storytimes, programs & readers' advisory
Disclaimers: Per the FTC regulations, please note that sometimes books are received for review for free by publishers or authors. All books (ARCs, galleys, library or purchased) will be reviewed fairly; no special consideration is given to anything reviewed on this blog. In addition, I make every attempt to avoid spoilers. Sometimes they happen inadvertently or because they are important to defend a review; not all spoilers have been removed or fixed. This disclaimer is a general statement included as a warning to readers.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

RSS Sesame Street Podcasts

  • Meet Julia
  • Happy Valentine's Day
  • Grover Can Do it
  • Let's Dance
  • Furry Friends Forever

%d bloggers like this: