That darn cat!

January 9, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Skippyjon Jones in the Doghouse by Judy Schachner; published by Dutton Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group, New York; 2005.

Skippyjon Jones has been a favorite read-aloud in our school since his debut because the parent-volunteers love doing the voices.  As I said before, I don’t usually care for author’s doing their own narrations, but again I was delighted by an author’s rendition.  Schachner’s voices, songs and accents are endearing and add so much to the telling of Skippyjon’s story.  She really likes her kitty creation!

In the case of this audiobook, I did refer to the illustrations as I listened to it.  What a treat to enjoy the acrylic with pen and ink illustrations while someone else read the story to me.

The original Skippyjon Jones was included on the CD with this book but the book was not included with the kit; I would have preferred to have both books with the CD.

I would definitely use this book and CD combo on a pathfinder of read-along books.  I would also use Schachner’s narration while I turn the pages of the book for a story time.  She is so entertaining and her narration helps illustrate how to read out loud with mucho gusto.  Ooh, that gives me an idea: I could use her narration to train parent volunteers how to read aloud to the students.

Entry filed under: Children's Picture Books on Audio. Tags: , , .

Laugh out loud and learn a little Madeline meets the silver screen


a librarian's library of plans & resources for storytimes, programs & readers' advisory
Disclaimers: Per the FTC regulations, please note that sometimes books are received for review for free by publishers or authors. All books (ARCs, galleys, library or purchased) will be reviewed fairly; no special consideration is given to anything reviewed on this blog. In addition, I make every attempt to avoid spoilers. Sometimes they happen inadvertently or because they are important to defend a review; not all spoilers have been removed or fixed. This disclaimer is a general statement included as a warning to readers.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

RSS Sesame Street Podcasts

  • Meet Julia
  • Happy Valentine's Day
  • Grover Can Do it
  • Let's Dance
  • Furry Friends Forever

