The Great Snowball Escapade BOOK GIVEAWAY & interview with author JD Holiday

December 7, 2010 at 5:54 am 11 comments

The Great Snowball Escapade by J.D. Holiday; published by Book Garden Publishing, Oreland, PA; 2010.

Win a free, autographed copy of this book!  Read on for details!

I want to thank you for being my guest on KidsRead.

You’re welcome. Thank you for having me here today.

What inspired you to write?

Stories of all kinds throughout my childhood opened up my imagination. I enjoyed coming up with my own endings to sad stories though I really only wrote one story as a child. I think that was in the fourth grade on a rainy day.

What type of books do you mostly write?

I write children’s books. I find my childhood was rich with experiences that have turned up inside my stories.

Can you share with us a little about your current book?

My current book is The Great Snowball Escapade. In the story, Wilhemena Brooks (known as Wil to her friends) and her cousin, Bud Dunphry, can’t get along. Bud is mean and doesn’t like playing with girls and Wil is tired of him giving her his “you’re going to got it” face. After the two of them have to stay in their rooms, Wil decides she has to try harder to understand her cousin and stay out of trouble.

Do you have any other works in progress? Can you share a little about them?

I have two I’m working on. One is a picture book I ’m doing the illustrations for now. It is a story about a boy who wants a puppy but gets a dog that is older. It’s what they do together that makes them pals.

The other book is a young adult novel titled Christmas in the City which has taken a backseat. I hope to have it ready by next Christmas. This story is about two girls, one with a family and one without, and both searching for what is important to them.

Is there anything else you would like to share with us?

Readers can find out more about me and my books at:

Thank you for taking the time to share The Great Snowball Escapade with me and my readers.

You are welcome! Thank you so much for having me here today. I appreciate it.  ~J.D. Holiday

My thoughts…

The Great Snowball Escapade is an entertaining read for emergent readers that includes a lesson about compassion and judging others.  Because of that lesson, I would suggest that teachers in first through third grade use this as a read-aloud in class.  In addition, the author recommends this book for children ages 6-8.  I think a set of these books would be appropriate in second grade classrooms for group assignments and discussion.  Public libraries might consider including a box of these books for loan to schools.  As a librarian, I would add this book to pathfinders about bullying and friendship.

Aside from the lesson inherent in the story, I always had a hard time finding winter-themed chapter books that kids wanted to read after the holidays when I worked in an elementary school library.  This book fits the bill perfectly for a display of snowy books that early elementary students will want to read.

By the way, J.D. Holiday also illustrated the book.  For early chapter book readers, illustrations not only break up the text (nice transition from picture books) but provide context clues for the story.  Holiday’s illustrations work very well with the text.

Want a FREE copy?

As promised, J.D. Holiday has provided me with an autographed copy of The Great Snowball Escapade plus two autographed bookmarks! This set would make a great holiday gift for a child or teacher (…or librarian…).

In order to win:

  1. Share this post in your blog, Facebook account, or in a tweet (or in any other social media) THEN
  2. Post a comment about the book and indicate how you shared it (Facebook, Twitter, etc) AND
  3. Be sure to include an email address where I can reach you to get your mailing information!
  4. The first comment that fulfills these three steps will be the winner!

This contest is limited to U.S. mailing addresses only, please.

For more information about J.D. Holiday’s World of Ink Tour, visit http://storiesforchildrenpublishing.com/J_D_Holiday_WorldofInkTour.aspx



Entry filed under: Children's Chapter Book. Tags: , , , , , , , .

BOOK GIVEAWAY! SNEAK PEEK PREVIEW: Clara Lee & the Apple Pie Dream redefines “as American as apple pie”

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  December 23, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Got the book and bookmarks and their wonderful!!!!! Thanks!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Santa's helper  |  December 8, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    If I win, just donate it to a battered women’s shelter, please! I posted to Facebook.

    Reply
  • 3. JJ Baker  |  December 8, 2010 at 7:05 am

    This sounds like it may be good for my third graders…they could use a lesson in compassion! :) I clicked to add it to Reddit and emailed it to my colleagues!

    Reply
  • 4. Matt Joseph  |  December 7, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    added to digg. great gift for my daughter….

    here’s my email but don’t make it public [email deleted]

    Reply
  • 5. JD Holiday  |  December 7, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Brad!
    Nice to see you here! Thank you for coming by.
    Jan

    Reply
  • 6. Brad Poulson  |  December 7, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Nancy & Jan, Very nice interview! The Great Snowball Escapade sounds delightful and I’m already looking forward to Jan’s work on the boy who got an older dog. Also, this promotional give away was a great idea. Keep up the good work – both of you.
    Respectfully, Brad Poulson

    Reply
  • 7. Angela B.  |  December 7, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Sounds like a good book and hope I win. I put it on my fb page.
    [email withheld]

    Reply
    • 8. N Messmore  |  December 8, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Congratulations, Angela! I have sent you an email requesting your address. I will mail you the book and bookmarks as soon as I get your reply. Again, congratulations!

      Reply
      • 9. JD Holiday  |  December 22, 2010 at 9:48 am

        Congratulations, Angela! Hope you enjoy it!
        Sincerely
        JD Holiday

  • 10. JD Holiday  |  December 7, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Nancy, I can’t thank you enough for hosting me today.
    Thank you both so much, Nancy and Virginia for your kind words.
    I grately appreciate all you both have done.

    Sincerely
    Jan
    JD Holiday

    Reply
  • 11. VS Grenier  |  December 7, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Thanks for hosting J.D. Holiday today and what a great post about not only her, but her book “The Great Snowball Escapade”. It’s one children will love for a life time. A timeless story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


a librarian's view of books and other kid-friendly resources
Disclaimers: Per the FTC regulations, please note that sometimes books are received for review for free by publishers or authors. All books (ARCs, galleys, library or purchased) will be reviewed fairly; no special consideration is given to anything reviewed on this blog. In addition, I make every attempt to avoid spoilers. Sometimes they happen inadvertently or because they are important to defend a review; not all spoilers have been removed or fixed. This disclaimer is a general statement included as a warning to readers.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Delicious Stacks for Children

View selected websites that provide resources for children: LibraryMuse's Children's Resources stack.

1 for All

Free to Read

The Exquisite Corpse Adventure

According to the Library of Congress's Read.gov site: "Ever heard of an Exquisite Corpse? It's not what you might think. An Exquisite Corpse is an old game in which people write a phrase on a sheet of paper, fold it over to conceal part of it and pass it on to the next player to do the same. The game ends when someone finishes the story, which is then read aloud. Our "Exquisite Corpse Adventure" works this way: Jon Scieszka, the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature, has written the first episode, which is "pieced together out of so many parts that it is not possible to describe them all here, so go ahead and just start reading!" He has passed it on to a cast of celebrated writers and illustrators, who must eventually bring the story to an end." You can read all 26 chapters here (http://www.read.gov/exquisite-corpse/). You can also listen to it being read, play games, collect clues and test your knowledge!

RSS Sesame Street Podcasts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

